Code

sysdb.git
8 years agoAdded initial version of the puppet-storeconfigs backend.
Sebastian Harl [Mon, 10 Dec 2012 14:41:45 +0000 (15:41 +0100)]
Added initial version of the puppet-storeconfigs backend.

This backend currently retrieves host information from Puppet by querying its
Store-Configs database using DBI.

8 years agosc_plugin.m4: Added support for dashes in plugin names to AC_SC_PLUGIN().
Sebastian Harl [Mon, 10 Dec 2012 14:40:38 +0000 (15:40 +0100)]
sc_plugin.m4: Added support for dashes in plugin names to AC_SC_PLUGIN().

8 years agoutils dbi: Added initial version.
Sebastian Harl [Mon, 10 Dec 2012 14:37:48 +0000 (15:37 +0100)]
utils dbi: Added initial version.

This module provides helper functions for using libdbi. Currently, data types
and functions for managing connection options, a database connection as well
as a generic query helper are available.

The query helper (sc_dbi_exec_query()) uses a specified callback function to
handle each row as returned from the SQL query. A custom data-type (based on
the libdbi data-types) is used to pass the query results to the handler
callback.

8 years agoInitial commit. sysdb-0.0.0
Sebastian Harl [Wed, 5 Dec 2012 15:10:48 +0000 (16:10 +0100)]
Initial commit.

This is the initial version of 'syscollector', a system management / inventory
collection service. The current version provides a configurable plugin
infrastructure to query host / service objects.

The system is made up of the following components:

 - libsyscollector: the library providing the core functionality to manage
   plugins and the data store

    * core/object: base "class" for objects being stored in any part of the
      library; an object contains information about a reference count and the
      actual data being stored (in derived "classes"); it may be used to ease
      memory management when using instances in different parts of the
      software

    * core/plugin: infrastructure for registering and calling plugin
      callbacks; each registered plugin has its own context which stores
      information that should be available to different parts of the software
      without having the plugin to care much about it; for now, configuration,
      init, shutdown and collector (backend) callbacks are supported

    * core/store: implementation of the system object store; currently, host
      and service entries are supported; each host includes a list of services
      assigned to it; the store objects are derived from the core object
      implementation

    * utils/llist: a linked list implementation, currently supporting sorted
      insertions, searching and shifting objects and iterators; the list
      stores core object instances

    * utils/string: collection of string utilities; currently a wrapper around
      strerror_r() is available only

    * utils/time: implementation of a custom time type which is a single
      integer value storing the time since the epoch in nanoseconds
      resolution; this is provided for simplified time calculations and
      comparisons

    * utils/unixsock: helper functions to connect to and communicate with a
      UNIX domain socket

 - backends: plugins implementing collector callbacks

    * collectd: this backend retrieves host and service information from
      collectd, the system statistics collection daemon, through its unixsock
      interface

 - daemon: 'syscollectord' is a daemon based on libsyscollector which
   periodically queries all backends

 - liboconfig: the configuration parsing library used by collectd; this is
   used by 'syscollectord' for parsing its configuration and it's used by
   libsyscollector to pass on configuration to the plugins